A Life of String. First show day.

Today in our production we had our first public performances. One was a open dress and the other was a evening show.

Prior to yesterday I had set all of my levels and my EQ’s on QLab as well as the EQ on the sound desk. So all I had to do from now is play space on the QLab file. However, as the EQ had reset on the desk and I tried to re create it I got different sounds as a result. The mid range speakers are now distorting on a few of the violin tracks. To try and combat this I am trying my best to edit my EQ on those songs in QLab by lowering the mid range.

Overall the runs went well and other than adjusting the EQ’s slightly everything else stayed the same in my file. There was a few cueing issues down to the DSM where sound was a bit early or late but it was easily fixed by restarting the track.

Some of the comments I have been given are that there is to much bass and it is distorting out the rest of the song. What I did to combat this was boost the mids and as a result it ended up with some of the songs distorting. To try and combat this for tomorrows performance I am going to try and lower the levels of the amplifiers which will decrease the output of the subs so the mids and highs wont have to push as hard as they were.

Yesterday I had created a cue list as well and is now all complete.

Cue sheet A life of string PDF NEW

I have also created a couple of signs warning others of the loud sound which is being played from the venue and in the performance.

Notice warning Loud music PDF V1.1

Notice warning Loud music PDF v3


20151214_095143_HDR20151214_09524320151214_151136_HDR

Down below are a couple pictures of my EQ before and after QLab.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment