A Life of String QLab

Over the past couple of weeks I have been creating the QLab file. While creating the QLab file and designing the sound for the show I have started and made a range of soundscapes which portray different ideas and emotion as well as be able to be linked in with the string theme.

One of my soundscapes which is being used as house music I created. It consists of about 3-4 different sound files but within QLab I have manipulated those sounds to produce a sound which I want. I wanted to make house music which has a element of mystery as well as it being eery. So I thought what makes a track seem eery. Which are; random sounds, random times, sharp and off notes and a element of consistency.

I have achieved this by adding a heartbeat throughout the track. This provides a hard sounding sound and ands a bit of horror. I have added a symbol / gong hitting sound effect which plays every 5 seconds. i have achieved this by putting it in a loop in QLab. Then from there I have taken a sound recording of a bass string being plucked and pitch shifted it to a range of different pitches and added random intervals to when they play. I did this as well by using the features within QLab.

Screen Shot 2015-12-10 at 22.58.56.png

Leave a comment