Dance, Life of a string.

Today we have started our first rehearsal of the year 2 dance show: Life of a string. We have started making notes for all of our departments and started to see how the dance is starting to look and what music they are planning to use.

I am on sound so I am asking about what soundtracks they would need and what soundtracks they have. I am also asking about any sound effects they want along with any soundscapes they want to enhance the performance.

I am planning to run sound off Qlab and make it the least amount of work for myself so it would just be a case of pressing space bar for the whole of the show.

For my speaker plan the Director has mentioned using dubstep which is quite heavy on bass so I want to give a good impact when bass is used in the song. So I am thinking of having a couple of subs underneath the seating so it will add a lot of atmosphere. I am planning on trying to put alot more emphasis on the other frequencies such as high and high mid so I am planning to put the standard of 2 speaker stacks either side of the stage which consist of 1 sub, 1 mid and 1 high. I am wanting to give full range of sound and totally emirs the audience in sound. This is only possible by having a sort of “surround sound” style so I would take advantage of the QTX active speakers and place them around the venue. At the minute the plan I have is quite ambitious but I think it is the only way to emirs the audience.

The dance show also has the art department involved so there will be some set to go in is well. If there is alot this could prove a few problems for my speaker plan. This plan being there will not be enough space for the speaker stacks or speakers and the set will effect the quality of the sound. If thats the case I have to think of ways to combat or re arrange my speakers.

Leave a comment